Annual Events

Throughout the year, the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery hosts several events that contribute to our mission to education, research, innovation, and patient care. In June, the department hosts the Garceau-Wray Orthopaedic Lectures, with a visiting professor and presentations from each of the PGY-4 Orthopaedic Residents, as well as presentations by the Adult Reconstruction, Hand, Spine, Sports, and Trauma fellows.

In November, the department hosts the Richard E. Lindseth Pediatric Orthopaedic Lectureship with a visiting professor and presentations from Pediatric Orthopaedists in the community and the region.

garceau-wray.jpg Garceau-Wray Lectureship

The Department of Orthopaedic Surgery began in 1948 with the appointment of Dr. George J. Garceau as Chairman.  Dr. Garceau guided the department through 1966 when Dr. James B. Wray was appointed the full-time Professor and Chairman of the Department.   This course is intended for orthopaedic surgeons, residents and orthopaedic allied health professionals.  This lecture series brings the most recent advances in the field of orthopaedic surgery by allowing experts, community physicians and researchers to come together to address a variety of orthopaedic topics in the area of diagnosis and treatment for hip, spine, shoulder, knee, pediatrics, trauma, foot and ankle disorders.

Garceau-Wray Visiting Professors:

2016 - William E. Garrett, Jr., M.D., Ph.D., Duke Sports Sciences Institute, Durham, NC

2015 - Bernard F. Morrey, M.S., Mayo Clinic

2014 - Peter Stern, M.D., University of Cincinnati

2013 - Aaron G. Rosenberg, M.D., Rush University

2012 - Michael A. Simon, M.D., University of Chicago

2011 - J. Lawrence Marsh, MD, University of Iowa

2010 - Roy Sanders, MD, Florida Orthopaedic Institute
          Arnold-Peter Weiss, MD, Brown University

2009 - Lee Riley III, MD, Johns Hopkins Medical Center
          Rick Wright, MD, Washington University
2008 - Lawrence Dorr, MD, The Arthritis Institute
          Vincent Mosca, MD, University of Washington

2007 - John Dormans, MD, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia 
          M.L. Chip Routt, Jr, MD, Harborview Medical Center

List of past Visiting Professors

Dr. Richard E. Lindseth

Richard E. Lindseth Lectureship

The Department of Orthopaedics at Indiana University is pleased to present the annual Lindseth Lectureship through the generosity of the Orthopaedic Residency Alumni.  The Lectureship consist of a full day of talks and case presentations on pediatric orthopaedics presented by the Pediatric Orthopaedic Faculty of IU and other distinguished academic pediatric orthopaedists.  

Dr. Lindseth received his B.A. degree from Dartmouth College and his M.D. degree from Harvard Medical School. His training in Orthopaedic Surgery was performed at the Upstate Medical Center, State University of New York, Syracuse, New York. In 1967, he joined the faculty at Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery as an Assistant Professor.  In 1969, he became Director of Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery at Riley Children's Hospital and Director of the Myelomeningocele Clinic.

Visiting Professors:

2015 - Dan J. Sucato, M.D., Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children
2014 - David Aronsson, M.D., University of Vermont
2013 - MaryBeth Ezaki, M.D., Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children
2012 - Regional Speakers
2011 - Michael Ain, MD,  Johns Hopkins University
2010 - James Gage, MD, Gillette Children’s Hospital
2009 - Scott Mubarek, MD, University of California-San Diego
2008 - Robert Hensinger, MD, University of Michigan


1120 W. Michigan Street, Room 600 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Adult: (317) 944-9400 | Pediatrics: (317) 948-2550