Commitment to Education 

Providing strong educational leadership through Indiana University School of Medicine is a daily part of the department's work. The department's educational direction began in 1967, when department chairman Dr. James B. Wray recruited a young group of orthopaedic surgeons to serve as the nucleus of a full-time academic department. Today the department's teaching team is made up of full-time educators, volunteer faculty, and resident staff.

Together, these educators train nearly 300 third-year medical students in clinical studies in orthopaedics service each year. There are seven elective clerkship positions available per month. Four students are accepted for elective clerkship positions in their senior year, and 25 resident physicians complete a five-year program which offers a broad range of orthopaedic experience.

The Indiana University residency and fellowship training programs are based at the IU Health University Hospital, Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health, Eskenazi Hospital and Roudebush VA Medical Center. All of the buildings are located on the Indiana University Medical Center Campus, on the IUPUI campus near downtown Indianapolis.  The residents also rotate off campus at Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center, St. Vincent Hospital, Methodist Sports Medicine Center, IU Health North Hospital, IU Health West Hospital, Methodist Medical Plaza South, and the Indiana Spine Group.  These facilities provide a balance of primary, secondary and tertiary inpatient care, ambulatory care, emergency care and community health.

The Indiana University School of Medicine is located at IUPUI which is the Indianapolis campus combining Indiana and Purdue Universities. Included on this campus are graduate, undergraduate and doctoral programs as well as and the professional schools including, Medicine, Law, Dentistry, and Nursing.  

1120 W. Michigan Street, Room 600 | Indianapolis, IN 46202 | Adult: (317) 944-9400 | Pediatrics: (317) 948-2550